Collaborative Specialization in Musculoskeletal Health ResearchBone and Joint Institute

Current Trainees

William Anderson

William Anderson

"Telelmetric Orthopaedic Implant for Quantification of Bone Healing"

Master's
Engineering
wander2@uwo.ca

Hayden Atkinson

Hayden Atkinson

"Developing a functional Musculoskeletal stress test for the knee: The MRI response to a challenging gait knee loading stimulus."

PhD Candidate
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
hatkins5@uwo.ca

Pardis Baha

Pardis Baha

"The anatomy and kinematics of the hip joint: preventing post-operative complications after hip arthoscopy"

PhD Candidate
Kinesiology
pbaha2@uwo.ca

Carolyn Berkmortel

Carolyn Berkmortel

"Lower Stiffness Orthopaedic Implants for the Upper Limb"

Master's
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
cberkmor@uwo.ca

Pavlos Bobos

Pavlos Bobos

"Technology-enabled Joint Protection Plan to Enhance Hand Function in Patients with Hand Osteoarthritis"

PhD Candidate
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
pbobos@uwo.ca

Jordan Broberg

Jordan Broberg

"Comparison of Surgical Techniques for an Anatomically Designed Total Knee Replacement"

PhD Candidate
Medical Biophysics
jbroberg@uwo.ca

Victor Carranza

Victor Carranza

"Development and Validation of a Finite Element Model to Simulate the Opening of a Medial Open Wedge High Tibial Osteotomy"

PhD Candidate
Biomedical Engineering
vcarranz@uwo.ca

McKenzie Carter

McKenzie Carter

"Mechanobiological changes in synovial inflammation after altered loading of the knee joint"

Master's
Physiology and Pharmacology
mcarte46@uwo.ca

Santiago Fabian Cobos Cobos

Santiago Fabian Cobos Cobos

"Non-destructive Testing and In-process Monitoring for SLM 3D Printing of Medical Components"

PhD Candidate
Medical Biophysics
scobos@uwo.ca

Baraa Daher

Baraa Daher

"Four-dimensional Computed Tomography Scans Allows Dynamic Visualization and Measurement of GH"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
bdaher2@uwo.ca

Robert Dima

Robert Dima

"3DUS for knee osteoarthritis: a validation project"

PhD Candidate
Health & Rehabilitation Sciences
rdima@uwo.ca

Shgufta Docter

Shgufta Docter

"Cost Effectiveness of an Alternative Rehabilitation Care Pathway following Total Knee Arthroplasty"

PhD Candidate
Physical Therapy
sdocter@uwo.ca

Sheradan Doherty

Sheradan Doherty

"Development of a pro-angiogenic cell secretome delivery strategy for soft connective tissue regeneration"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
sdoher9@uwo.ca

Mai El-Najjar

Mai El-Najjar

"Advanced 3D Metal Additive Manufacturing for Dental Substructure

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
melnajja@uwo.ca

Mohamad Fakhereddin

Mohamad Fakhereddin

"The Genetics of Pain: A prospective cohort study exploring the association between key genetic markers and the development of chronic pain following injury"

PhD Candidate
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
mfakhere@uwo.ca

Dale Fournier

Dale Fournier

"Radiographic and historical characterization of pathological mineralization of Diffuse Idiopathic Skeletal Hyperostosis (DISH)"

PhD Candidate
Anatomy and Cell Biology
dfourni6@uwo.ca

Rochelle Furtado

Rochelle Furtado

"Measuring quality of life in patients with rotator cuff disorders"

Master's
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
rfurtad5@uwo.ca

Mariam Ghodrati

Mariam Ghodrati

"Direct and interactional effects on pain, distress, disability, and recovery following non-catastrophic musculoskeletal trauma"

PhD Candidate
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
mghodra@uwo.ca

Mohammad Haddara

Mohammad Haddara

"Experimental Simulation of Active Finger Joint Motion with 4D CT Visualization"

PhD Candidate
Biomedical Engineering
mhaddara@uwo.ca,

Ermina Hadzic

Ermina Hadzic

"The role of IL-15 in Osteoarthritis"

Master's
Physiology and Pharmacology
ehadzic2@uwo.ca

Harvi Hart

Harvi Hart

"Gait retraining and foot orthoses for patellofemoral osteoarthritis: Effects on gait bomechanics, muscle recruitment and 3D weight-bearing imaging"

Post-Doctoral Fellowship
Physical Therapy
h.hart@latrobe.edu.au

Marco Herrera

Marco Herrera

"Development of decellularized scaffolds for intervertebral disc repair and regeneration"

Master's
Anatomy & Cell Biology
mherrer7@uwo.ca

Khaled Marwan Hijazi

Khaled Marwan Hijazi

"Optimization of 3D-Printed Porous Titanium Constructs for Craniofacial Reconstruction"

PhD Candidate
Biomedical Engineering
khijazi@uwo.ca

Gregory Hong

Gregory Hong

"Improving MRI metal artifact near orthopedic implants"

PhD Candidate
Medical Biophysics
ghong6@uwo.ca

Jeffrey Hutchinson

Jeffrey Hutchinson

"Investigating the effect of anabolic steroids on the intervertebral disc"

Master's
Physiology and Pharmacology
jhutch48@uwo.ca,

Seva Ioussoufovitch

Seva Ioussoufovitch



Research Interests / Specializations: "Assessing Treatment Response in Rheumatoid Arthritis by Monitoring Joint Blood Flow"
PhD Candidate
Biomedical Engineering
sioussou@uwo.ca

Morgan Jennings

Morgan Jennings

"Validity and reliability of an e-visit for early post-operative visits following orthopaedic surgery"

PhD Candidate
Health & Rehabilitation Sciences
mjenni3@uwo.ca,

Elizabeth Jewlal

Elizabeth Jewlal

"Craniofacial  Phenotypic  and  Functional  Consequences  of  Reduced  Connexin-43  Function"

Master's
Anatomy & Cell Biology
ejewlal@uwo.ca

Ishita Joshi

Ishita Joshi

"Clinical and Cost-effectiveness of an Alternative Rehabilitation Care Pathway following Total Knee Arthroplasty"

Master's
Health & Rehabilitation Sciences
ijoshi@uwo.ca

Hisham Kamoun

Hisham Kamoun

"The Co-Delivery of Syngeneic Adipose-derived Stem/Stromal Cells and Macrophages on Decellularized Adipose Tissue Bioscaffolds for In Vivo Soft Tissue Regeneration"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
hkamoun@uwo.ca

Geoffrey Kerr

Geoffrey Kerr

"The effect of whole body vibration on intervertebral disc and joint health in a murine model"

PhD Candidate
Physiology and Pharmacology
gkerr7@uwo.ca

Michaela Khan

Michaela Khan

"Weight-bearing and functional 3D imaging of syndesmotic ankle sprains"

Master's
Kinesiology
mkhan576@uwo.ca

Tina Khazaee

Tina Khazaee

"Functional joint implant to control post-surgical orthopedic associated infection"

Master's
Medical Biophysics
tkhazaee@uwo.ca

Mark Kim

Mark Kim

"Characterization of the cellular response of annulus fibrosus cells to cyclic tensile strain"

PhD Candidate
Physiology and Pharmacology
mkim453@uwo.ca

Anna Kornmuller

Anna Kornmuller

"Naturally derived microcarriers as tissue-specific 3-D cell culture platforms"

PhD Candidate
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
akornmul@uwo.ca

Jonathan Kusins

Jonathan Kusins

"CT-Compatible Multi-Directional Loading Mechanism for Mechanical Testing of Skeletal Joints"

PhD Candidate
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
jkusins@uwo.ca

Yue Lai-Zhao

Yue Lai-Zhao

"Monocyte and macrophage priming and synovitis in early osteoarthritis"

Master's
Physiology and Pharmacology
yue.laizhao@uwo.ca,

Michael Lavdas

Michael Lavdas

"Active Infection Monitoring Spacer"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
mlavdas@uwo.ca

Aliyu Lawan

Aliyu Lawan

"Etiopathogenesis of vertebral endplate defects and their association with the occurrence and severity of back pain"

PhD Candidate
Health & Rehabilitation Sciences
alawan@uwo.ca

Matthew Lawrence

Matthew Lawrence

"3D Printed Electroactive Polymer Scaffolds for Self Regulated Drug Delivery"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
mlawre28@uwo.ca

Natalie Liang

Natalie Liang

"Synthetic-Natural Hybrid Polymer Platform: Towards Cell Delivery for the Treatment of MSK Conditions"

Master's
Chemistry
ylian43@uwo.ca

Jason  Lockhart

Jason Lockhart

"Joint Forces and their Effect on Acromial Stress After Reverse Shoulder Arthroplasty"

Master's
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
jlockha7@uwo.ca

Ashley Lowndes

Ashley Lowndes

"Physiotherapist Referral Process at Discharge to Community Exercise Programs for Older Adult Patients with Hip/Knee OA, pre-/ post TJA, or Repaired Hip Fracture"

PhD Candidate
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
alowndes@uwo.ca

Michael Lukacs

Michael Lukacs

"Quantifying the stress response to a novel virtual road collision simulation and association with pain modulation"

PhD Candidate
Physical Therapy
mlukacs2@uwo.ca

Patrick Murphy

Patrick Murphy

"Characterization of Wilms' Tumour (WT-1) as a Biomarker for Fibrosis in Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy"

Master's
Anatomy & Cell Biology
pmurph23@uwo.ca

Vaughan Murphy

Vaughan Murphy

"Biomimetic Textile-Actuated Mechatronic Rehabilitation for Post-Stroke Arm Paresis"

Master's
Electrical and Computer Engineering
vmurphy8@uwo.ca

Goris Nazari

Goris Nazari

"The Effectiveness of In-Clinic Therapy vs Home Program Exercises in Patients with Rotator Cuff Injuries. A Randomized Controlled Trial"

PhD Candidate
Health & Rehab Sciences
gnazari@uwo.ca

Clare Padmore

Clare Padmore

"Carpal kinematics and intercarpal force transmission in the native and injured wrist"

PhD Candidate
Biomedical Engineering
cpadmor@uwo.ca

Adam Paish

Adam Paish

"The development of a 3D-printed-metal functional hip implant system for a small animal model of joint replacement surgery"

PhD Candidate
Medical Biophysics
apaish@uwo.ca,

Alex Peidl

Alex Peidl

"CCN3: a novel antifibrotic therapy"

PhD Candidate
Physiology and Pharmacology
apeidl@uwo.ca

Holly Philpott

Holly Philpott

"Impact of pre-operative OA-associated synovitis on post-operative outcomes after total knee arthroplasty"

PhD Candidate
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
hphilpo2@uwo.ca

Ryan Pinto

Ryan Pinto

"Gait Real-Time Analysis Interactive Lab: Reliability and Validity of Knee Joint Angles and Moments in Patients with Knee Osteoarthritis"

PhD Candidate
Health & Rehab Sciences
rpinto@uwo.ca

Jennifer Polus

Jennifer Polus

"Integrated analysis of function, activity, and implant fixation with different total hip arthroplasty surgical techniques and implant designs"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
jpolus@uwo.ca

Codie Primeau

Codie Primeau

"Clinical and Cost-effectiveness of an Alternative Rehabilitation Care Pathway following Total Knee Arthroplasty”

PhD Candidate
Health & Rehab Sciences
cprimea@uwo.ca

Puneet Ranota

Puneet Ranota

"Dynamic 4DCT to examine the effects of mal-united distal radius fractures on carpal contact mechanics"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
pranota@uwo.ca

Sydney Robinson

Sydney Robinson

"Feasability of four-dimensional computed tomography as diagnostic tool for scapholunate ligament injuries"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
srobi85@uwo.ca

Melina Rodrigues-Bellini

Melina Rodrigues-Bellini

"EGFR?Mig-6 signalling in osteoarthritis"

PhD Candidate
Physiology and Pharmacology
mbellini@uwo.ca

Debora Rossetti

Debora Rossetti

"The Wear of Hemiarthroplasty Implants on Cartilage"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
drosset2@uwo.ca

Jenna Schulz

Jenna Schulz

"Quantifying the Relationship between osteoarthritis and cerebrovascular deficits"

PhD Candidate
Health & Rehab Sciences
jschulz2@uwo.ca

Fiona Serack

Fiona Serack

"Development of a cell delivery strategy to modulate angiogenesis and inflammation in mechanically-dynamic soft connective tissues"

PhD Candidate
Biomedical Engineering
fserack@uwo.ca

Nadia Sharma

Nadia Sharma

"Development of Tissue-Specific Instructive Matrices for Intervertebral Disc Regeneration"

Master's
Biomedical Enigneering
nsharm72@uwo.ca

Jakub Szmit

Jakub Szmit

"Optimizing Radial Head Hemiarthroplasty Technique and Implant Geometry"

Master's
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
jszmit@uwo.ca

Clara Tam

Clara Tam

"Using Intelligent Data Analytics for Automated Locomotor Therapy Planning to Improve Mobility"

Master's
Biomedical Engineering
ctam62@uwo.ca

Amir Tavakoli

Amir Tavakoli

"Optimizing Humeral Stem Sizing, Positioning, and Geometry for Total Shoulder Arthroplasty"

Master's
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
atavako8@uwo.ca

Bethia To

Bethia To

"The Role of Nuclear Receptor Peroxisome Proliferator-Activated Receptor Delta (PPARdelta) in Obesity-associated OA"

Master's
Physiology and Pharmacology
bto5@uwo.ca

Madeleine Van de Kleut

Madeleine Van de Kleut

"Evaluation of Implant Fixation in Reverse Total Shoulder Arthroplasty"

PhD Candidate
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
mvandekl@uwo.ca

Nicholas Van Osch

Nicholas Van Osch

"Integration of Navigation for Shoulder Arthroplasty Procedures"

Master's
Mechanical & Materials Eng
nvanosc@uwo.ca

Matthew Veras

Matthew Veras

"An "Omics" approach to identify potential regulators of ectopic mineralization in mouse model of DISH"

PhD Candidate
Physiology and Pharmacology
mveras@uwo.ca

Ian Villamagna

Ian Villamagna

"Preparation of intra-articular drug delivery systems"

PhD Candidate
Biomedical Engineering
ivillama@uwo.ca

Brent Wakefield

Brent Wakefield

"Pannexin Channels 1 and 3 in Musculoskeletal Health and Disease"

PhD Candidate
Anatomy and Cell Biology
bwakefi@uwo.ca

John Walker

John Walker

"Exploring the Mechanisms of ASC-Mediated Adipose Tissue Regeneration in Decellularized Adipose Tissue Scaffolds"

Postdoctoral Fellow
Anatomy & Cell Biology
jwalk29@uwo.ca

Geofrey Yamomo

Geofrey Yamomo

"Evaluating the Durability of a Load Sensing Energy Harvester Device for Total Knee Replacements"

Master's
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
gyamomo@uwo.ca

Yue Zhou

Yue Zhou

"Assessment of Parkinsonian Hand Tremor and Development of a Tremor Suppression Glove"

PhD Candidate
Mechanical and Materials Engineering
yzhou426@uwo.ca

Christina Ziebart

Christina Ziebart

"An exercise, nutrition education and falls prevention education program for people with an osteoporotic wrist fracture"

PhD Candidate
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
cziebart@uwo.ca

Bryn Olivia Zomar

Bryn Olivia Zomar

"Shortening the length of stay after total joint replacements"

PhD Candidate
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
bzomar@uwo.ca